About Monadnock Family Services


We are a nonprofit Community Mental Health Center that has serviced Cheshire County and surrounding areas for more than 100 years. Our mission is to be a source of health and hope for people and the communities in which they live. MFS fosters mental and emotional wellness for individuals of all ages. We create services that heal, education that transforms, and advocacy that brings a just society.


Founded in 1905, Monadnock Family Services (MFS) is a nonprofit, comprehensive, community mental health center serving 35 towns and 110,00 residents in southwestern New Hampshire. Each year, our almost 200 team members serve about 500 children with emotional and behavioral disturbances and 800 adults with mental illness through more than a dozen distinct programs in parent education, youth development, family support, elder care, veterans services, substance abuse prevention and treatment, and individual and group treatment and recovery support for persons and families struggling with mental illness.


One of ten community mental health centers in New Hampshire, MFS has seen a significant rise in the numbers of consumers eligible for state supported care needing services each year. To be eligible, an adult must meet criteria of need stipulated by statute. Almost all adults served by the agency have either Severe Mental Illness (SMI) or Severe and Persistent Mental Illness (SPMI) according to regulations promulgated by the Bureau of Behavioral Health. Similarly, children and teens are designated as having Severe Emotional Disturbance (SED) or as having that condition plus Inter-Agency Involvement (SED-IA). For eligible adults, the agency offers psychiatric services, case management, supported employment, assertive community treatment and community based rehabilitation services that improve skills and promote the individual’s recovery. In 2014, 48% of all of our clinical services rendered to our population were accomplished in the community.

Monadnock Family Services Board of Directors

Reba Clough

Vice Chair

Alfred John Santos


Glenn Galloway

Sharman Howe

Assistant Secretary

Laurie Appel

Brian Donovan

Lisa Foote

Julie Green

Christine Houston

Mike Jablonski

Karen Johnson

Bill Nickey

Andrew Parsley

Heather Scheck

Chris Sprague

Joe Schapiro

Donate Now

Support your non-profit, comprehensive, community mental health center serving the residents of the 38 towns in the southwest corner of NH.

Donate Now!

Thank you for your donation!